International Permaculture Day 2015

Permaculture Respects The Soil: Let’s Celebrate Both

International Permaculture Day 2015

Not only is this Sunday International Permaculture Day 2015 (#IPD2015), it’s an opportunity to celebrate the soil in this, the International Year of Soils (#IYS2015).

From the organisers of #IPD2015:

The first Sunday in May is a day of celebration and action for permaculture around the world. Open homes, gardens and farms, films, educational workshops, PermaBlitz’ (garden makeovers) and more, provide an opportunity to experience permaculture on the ground and talk to and learn from practitioners.

From the organisers of #IYS2015, Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations:

The multiple roles of soils often go unnoticed. Soils don’t have a voice, and few people speak out for them. They are our silent ally in food production.

Permaculture Events in Australia

Each year hundreds of permies list gatherings, events, and workshops on the IPD website – opening up their spaces and lives to those wanting to learn and experience permaculture. Here are some of the events that will be running in Australia this year:

A Permaculture Picnic – Katoomba, NSW – permacultureday.org/event/permaculture-picnic

Native Fruit Tree Plantathon – Byron Bay, NSW – permacultureday.org/event/native-fruit-tree-plantathon-byron-shire/

Hands On Permaculture Workshop – Crystal Waters, QLD – permacultureday.org/event/hands-on-permaculture-workshop/

Glenelg North Community Garden Grand Opening – Adelaide, SA – permacultureday.org/event/glenelg-north-community-garden-grand-opening/

Urban Farming Tasmania’s Share Market and Seed Swap – Westbury, TAS – permacultureday.org/event/urban-farming-tasmanias-share-market-and-seed-swap/

Abdallah House Tour – Seymour, VIC – permacultureday.org/event/abdallah-house-tour/

CERES Understanding Soils Workshop – East Brunswick, VIC – permacultureday.org/event/ceres-understanding-soils-workshop/

Celebrate Soil – Margaret River, WA – permacultureday.org/event/celebrate-soil/

International Permaculture Day on the South Coast of NSW

This year, Robyn Rosenfeldt, founding editor of Pip Magazine, will be hosting an event at her property not only to celebrate permaculture but to celebrate and remember the life of permaculture elder, Vries Gravestein. John Champagne writes:

To mark International Permaculture Day and to present a plaque to the Gravestein family in honour of the late Vries Gravestein becoming a permaculture elder, we call on the broader local permaculture community to come and celebrate together.

And, in true permie style, we thought we’d integrate a design exercise into it for a future PermaBlitz day in Pambula. Robyn Rosenfeldt’s family home has an area approx 50 sq mts that Robyn and Alex like to use as an outdoor classroom space and a low maintenance food forest (and it includes a composting toilet). They’re wanting to develop their property as a workshop venue so this area becomes a strategic space for a good design. Anyone who’s done a permaculture course or has a strong interest is very welcome.

If you’re in the Pambula area on the day and would like to participate and celebrate, here are the details:

Program:
10am – Design brief and group exercise
12 noon – BYO lunch to share with a BBQ fired up

Venue: 130 Oaklands Road, Pambula (driveway opposite Oaklands Lane)
RSVP: To help plan the design process in terms of numbers attending, please RSVP Robyn at: robyn@pipmagazine.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *